Reyes hopes he can stay in Spain

June 2, 2007 at 6:58 pm (Events)

            reye.jpg

Arsene Wenger is trying to sell Atletico Madrid Jose Antonio Reyes. Wenger apparently has been to Spain to negotiate a permanent switch for the Spainish youngster only weeks after Atletico declared they were not interested in his services.

Added to this, Reyes has announced publically that he does not wish
to return to English Football nor Arsenal. “There are teams interested in me, but I don’t really want to know much about the whole issue until the very end because I want to stay focused,” Reyes said. “I only wish I can stay in Spain.”

The future of Julio Baptista is inextricably linked to that of Reyes, after the pair exchanged clubs last summer. Baptista has performed in only fits and starts while on loan at Emirates Stadium, and Wenger would appear reluctant to meet Real’s £10million asking price should Reyes rejoin The Gunners. “If I stay at Arsenal and Reyes stays at Real, then Real have to pay Arsenal £3million and the problem is over,” Baptista is quoted in the Sun. “If Reyes doesn’t stay, it gets complicated. I’ve got three more years on my contract with Real and they’ll be the ones who decide.”

Leave a comment